Mark 1:35

Tonight was our midweek Bible study.  I always look forward to our services, both Sunday and Wednesday.

How many times have we read a verse or done translation work in a verse and missed the impact at that time, only to see it later?

That is how I felt tonight after listening to one of our assistant pastors speak on this verse.  I have read through the book of Mark several times over the last 20 + years of being a Christian and did some translation work in Mark when I was in undergraduate Greek several years ago.

These thoughts are what I came away with from tonight’s study, some are questions, others are observations.

Mark 1:35 (NKJV) Now in the morning, having risen a long while before daylight.  He went out and departed to a solitary place; and there He prayed.

1.  If Jesus needed to get alone early in the day for prayer – How much more do we need to engage in this practice/discipline?

2. The rigors of spiritual ministry take a toll both spiritually and physically.

3. Prayer closet – not a literal closet, but a place to focus and pray to God.

4. Luke 5:16 – a term of habit/self-imposed discipline.

5. Luke 6:12 – Extended time of prayer before a major decision or undertaking – Praying all night

I apologize that these thoughts are not alliterated or homiletical, but I wanted to share them with others, because they really gripped my heart and convicted me regarding this area of my life.  It seems that I have time for many other things in the beginning of the day and often times neglect prayer.

I hope between this message and next weeks Spiritual Disciplines Conference that I will be able to make a marked improvement in my practice of the Spiritual Disciplines.

2 responses to “Mark 1:35

  1. Have you ever noticed that the Tabernacle provides the perfect pattern of our prayer life? From praise to intercession to repentance to close communion with God…all 7 or 8 steps are hit perfectly. Just as the priest had to go though a process to reach God, so we also as priests go through a process during prayer in order to have rich communion with Him. And since we have Jesus as our high priest, we can enter boldly into the Holy of Holies, going ever farther than ever before!

    Good stuff.

  2. Stuart–I had never thought of the Tabernacle as a pattern for prayer. Thanks for sharing that. I look forward to studying the Temple more with the thought of prayer as the undercurrent. Good stuff.

    Terry–I remember having that a-ha moment with the same exact passage. It blows my mind that Jesus, who is God, made time for prayer and it is the first thing we kick to the curb when we get too busy.

Leave a Reply

