Graduation… now what?

Well, today was my last day of class for this semester. I have next week of final exams and then commencment on Saturday morning May 10th. I have been thinking about this process (it has taken me six years) of getting a graduate degree (I have earned in M.A. in Theology with a concentration in Biblical Studies).

  • I started in 2002
  • I was single when I started, now I am married and a father of a two year old son
  • We went from a two income household, to basically a one-income household (wife works p/t frm home)
  • So far to this point it has cost me $12,036.01 for this degree. This includes fees, books, tuition, etc.
  • I do not have any hard statistics on how many pages I have read, papers I have done, etc. I know that I have spent my share of time in the seminary library and I still have some time to invest there this week.

Now that I have completed this degree what is next? I am not totally certain. My plans are to continue here to finish the remaining 20 hours to obtain my MDiv (another two years). I do not know what the Lord may have in store. It would be very easy for me to ask some of the usual questions of myself or of this accomplishment, but I want to ask a different one.

Have we cheapened education in some form or fashion by making it a “requirement”?

Please do not misunderstand what I am saying. I can remember years ago that MBA’s were extremely rare and people who invested the time and effort were usually rewarded with good paying jobs, etc. Now MBA’s are a dime a dozen and the market is oversaturated with people with MBA degrees not working in their field, but taking lesser paying jobs to survive. I shift gears to the seminary side, are M.A.’s and MDiv’s the MBA’s of the theological world? I have no regrets in making this investment, but I remember back to someone telling me that having a graduate degree will open doors of opportunity that would not otherwise be open.  I know that obtaining this degree is an accomplishment, but I know that it will not change anything at my secular job, I will not be given a pay raise or afforded any additional respect.  I will remain a “cube dweller” monotonously keying contracts for 8 + hours a day.  I had always figured that an accomplishment of this sort would have meant something in the secular world, but that is why I ask my question.

Well, I am waiting to see what is on the other side of those “doors of opportunity”?

One response to “Graduation… now what?

  1. I just happened across your blog randomly. I have a liberal arts degree from a smaller private college. When I entered college in 1995, the liberal arts education was touted as being valuable to employers. I think now any eduction you pursue has be focused on some very specific employment based degree like nursing. Most white collar style jobs seem to require really specialized training and I’ve found that employers aren’t impressed by your religion or philosophy classes when they want someone who knows Microsoft Access well. Sounds like you enjoy your studies though, and I think it’s worth it to say ‘I pursued what I loved.’ You could also be on a very good track to being a professor yourself, having gone this far in your education so far.

Leave a Reply

