The last two weeks

Well, two weeks ago tomorrow (Tuesday) we left for our family vacation in Florida visiting my sister and brother in law.  We flew Air-Tran and were impressed with the level of service and the on time departure and arrivals.  In this day and age where the airlines seem to be gouging their customers at every available turn, it is a pleasure to be treated like a human being and with a level of respect that is not found on the legacy carriers.  Thanks, Air-Tran for a great experience.

When we arrived, my mother and father in law (who had been in FL since Sunday) were there to meet us at the airport.  It was quite warm in FL and it was enjoyed by all of us who have been subjected to the long MN winter this year.

During the course of the vacation, I was able to read a couple of books: Memoirs Of An Ordinary Pastor by D.A. Carson and What is a Healthy Church by Mark Dever.   I enjoyed both books immensely, especially Carson’s book about his father.   I gained a tremendous amount of insight reading Carson’s accounts along with those of his father about life and ministry in Canada and life and ministry in general.  This is a good book to read.  It is a short read, but very captivating and hard to put down.  Dever’s book I am reading as supplementary material for an ABF (Adult Bible Fellowship) class that I am teaching on the local church.

I also had the opportunity to spend a good amount of time with my son and this was much needed since most of the first part of the year (Jan – May) was taken up with seminary classwork and responsibilities.  I was able to enjoy time with him and my wife without having to worry about work, ministry or seminary responsibilities.  My son also enjoyed the time he had interacting and playing with his cousins.

We also went to the beach and the zoo and I was able to play golf one day (after a 2 1/2 yr lay off from the game) and I enjoyed playing golf, even if it wasn’t with my clubs.  I think I will try to make time this summer to play more golf than I have in the past.  Maybe the 2 1/2 year lay off was what I needed!

We headed home last Thursday, however, we drove back with my in-laws.  The first day we got as far as Jackson, MS and were caught in a torrential downpour and could not see very well, so after 4 hrs of driving we decided to call it for the day because of the weather.  We stopped and stayed in Jackson, MS and headed out in the AM.  Friday found us making a lot of ground, we started in Jackson, MS then on to Memphis, TN, part of AR and into Missouri.  While on the road, I was able to talk with Terry Delaney and got some helpful advice about going through St. Louis.  We hit St. Louis right at the rush hour, so we were unable to stop like I had wanted to in order to get a gooey-butter cake ( a St. Louis speciality – that I had with Terry back in April).  It took us quite a while to get to our destination that day of Columbia, MO.    Saturday AM, we left Columbia in heavy rain in order to make it back to MN later that day.  We arrived back around 7:30 pm exhausted and road weary, but glad to be home.

Being in Florida brought back a lot of memories when I lived in Jacksonville for 14 years.  I remembered a lot of places, food, cultural nuances that I had forgotten about.  In some ways, I miss FL and in other ways, I do not miss it.  It is kind of a “love hate relationship”

It is good to be home.  I will head back to work tomorrow and this will be a short work week with the holiday today.  It is weird to have already completed our vacation so early since we usually do not take it until late July early August!

Now that seminary is completed, I should be a lot more consistent in posting to the blog, but I have not decided how frequent I will post and I do not want to overpromise or underdeliver.

A special thanks goes out to those who are presently serving our country in the Armed Forces.  Thank you for making it possible for us to have a free country.

Thanks for reading.

One response to “The last two weeks

  1. Terry:

    I can’t believe that you went 2 1/2 years without playing golf! Nope. I refuse to believe it.

    Anyway, I’m glad you had a good time in FL. I know how you feel about Jacksonville, I loved growing up there and I loved living there but I don’t know if I would want to go back.

    MRJ

Leave a Reply

