Back to the 50’s

Well, today I had the opportunity to attend the MSRA Back to the 50’s Car Show at the MN State Fairgrounds.  This has been somewhat of an informal tradition that was started a few years ago.  The show is one of the largest in the country with over 11,000 cars on display.

We arrived in the morning and stayed most of the day.  It was really neat to see all of the cars, some of them in good condition and some needing repair and care!

My son spent most of his time riding in the stroller taking all of the scenery in.  Everytime I have gone, I have always had thoughts about these cars being the cars of my parents generation and how they were the big deal back then.  All I could think about while watching some of the owners driving their cars around was how they survived without air conditioning (it was pretty hot here today!) I guess we are truly spoiled!

On another note, I will be teaching in one of our other ABF classes on the material that I learned from Dr. Don Whitney when I was in Louisville back in April on Praying Through Scripture.  You may remember reading my first attempt at teaching this material was not as successful as I would have liked it to be.  Well, I have another opportunity to teach it to a different group of people in our church.  Please pray that it will honor God and accomplish God’s purpose and not necessarily mine.  I will tell them that if I have confused them, then please pray that God will allow our pastor to invite Dr. Whitney to come and speak and then he can undo any of the confusion that I might have inadvertently created.  Seriously, I am looking forward to this opportunity.  I also hope that maybe someday in the near future that Dr. Whitney would have the opportunity to speak at our church in a conference setting.

Leave a Reply

