Why all the fuss?

I have always enjoyed different foods and trying different things.  Not too exotic, though.  Recently I have not been able to figure out why all of the fuss and hype about certain foods that have been around forever.

Nowadays, you can’t go anywhere without seeing something that has pomegranate in it.  There is pomegranate applesauce, pomegranate lemonade, pomegranate and green tea mixed.  You get the point. My question is why all of the fuss.  I can remember eating pomegranates as a snack when I was in kindergarten, no big deal.  They tasted great. Pomegrantes

The next food is black beans.  Something that has been around for a while but now they seem to be in everything, especially burritos and other such delicacies.  Now you can go to the store and find several different types of black beans:  vegetarian, Cuban, etc.

Black Beans

I would like to hear from readers as to why all of the fuss about these foods.  If I thought about it long enough, I could come up with more foods that fit it this category.  I welcome your opinions and comments!

Pomegranate Picture courtesy of pomegranates.org

Black Beans Picture courtesy of wikipedia

One response to “Why all the fuss?

  1. I think the reason for all the fuss with regards to pomegranate is due to the fact that they are loaded with anti oxidants and manufacturers are using pomegranate as a marketing tool to sell their products. People think oh, it has pomagranate in it, so it must be healthy and they purchase the product.
    I think that black beans are popular, because they are high in fiber and usually products that are high in fiber are also considered healthy.
    I think the real big emphasis with regards to food today, would have to be on all the organic products as well as anything that contains essential fatty acids: the omegas 3, 6 and 9.
    The bottom line is that these foods have been around for centuries, but we have more knowledge of the positive effects these foods provide for the human body and our cells. I would also list blueberries with regards to this topic.

Leave a Reply

