Going Home – California Trip – Day 1

Yesterday, I left for LA, CA early in the morning.  I had a nice enjoyable flight on Northwest.  We arrrived on time.  Luggage service at LAX is unbelievably good and efficient!  Maybe MSP could learn a few things.  I had my luggage within 20 mins of arriving which is excellent.  Then I made my way outside to the FlyAway Bus to go to the Valley.

I arrived in the Valley and Neil met me at the Flyway station and we were off.  We are in town for our school’s 45th annual all-alumni gala that will be held tonight in Woodland Hills.  We went by the church and school campus and it still looks the same (from last year) with a few changes.  We wandered around there for a few mins and then left to meet my dad and sister for lunch.

After lunch, we headed back to the Valley, checked into the hotel.  It is definitely weird staying in a hotel less than a mile from where I grew up.  I remember when they were building this hotel.

We went to dinner last night at uWink, an interesting concept restaurant that was founded by Nolan Bushnell of Atari and Chuck E Cheese fame.

Today, we will go to the Open House at the church/school campus and then the big gala dinner tonight.  Tomorrow, church in the AM (early service) and then at 1:00 pm we will enjoy the Dodger game!

Some miscellaneous thoughts related to this trip:

I always enjoy coming home even though I have not lived here permanently since 1988.  In some ways, it seems like I never left, but I also cannot deny the many changes (both good and bad) that have taken place in those 20 years.  Fortunately, I have been able to come back for visits at least once a year.

There is always a conflict of emotions when I come “home”.  It is good to be back home, but it gets harder to come back since my Mom’s death.  Part of me wants to return, but then reality kicks in:  crime rate, cost of living, finding a church home, finding a decent job to be able to afford the lifestyle, cultural influences, etc.  The weather is great compared in MN, but there are some definite advantages to living in MN.  One thing I know that no matter where I live, if I stay in MN or go somewhere else, this will always be home for me.  Familiarity is a good thing, sometimes!

One response to “Going Home – California Trip – Day 1

  1. Bruce Kelnhofer

    Terry,

    What is up? Going home can be home especially when all is calm. I hope you enjoy yourself.

    Bruce

Leave a Reply

