Dissertations and Dinkytown

After I got off work this afternoon, I ventured down to the Anderson Library at the U of M to locate a quotation in a dissertation for a friend of mine who is working on a dissertation himself.  Since I had never been to the U before, I asked a friend of mine, Stuart Blessman, to help me navigate the campus and find my way around.

After getting turned around by the campus, I met up with Stuart and we went inside the library to the Archives Desk, where I picked up the dissertation that was on hold.  I quickly started to scan and asked Stuart to help me scan because we were looking for a particular phrase which we located.  I marked the pages that I needed copied and we finished with about 10 mins to spare.  The Archives section closes at 4:30 pm.

After we got done at the library, I offered to treat Stuart to a slice of Mesa Pizza which is located in Dinkytown near the U of M Campus.  Mesa Pizza is an interesting place, small, very limited seating, but the pizza is great. I had a slice of Spicy Chicken Quesadilla, which consists of spicy chicken (not very spicy), cream sauce, cheddar chesse and a quesadilla top.  It was great.  They also have some very unique pizzas all sold by the slice.  Some of the other ones that sound like they are worth trying:  Southwest Taco, Spicy Chicken Burrito, Morlaya’s Chicken, and Avocado Delight.  So if you are ever in Minneapolis near the U, try Mesa Pizza and I guarantee you will not go away hungry or disappointed!

I do not know why that section of town is called Dinkytown, but here is what Wikipedia has to say about it!

Leave a Reply

