Why do people depart from the faith?

A question that I have been mulling over for some time and one I hope to attempt to answer when I teach this Sunday.  I am filling in for one of my professors who teaches an ABF class at our church.  He is going to be away this weekend and I will be filling in….

Also, on an unrelated note.  I am wanting to do some reading on the Puritans, mainly with regard to their devotional lives and attitude regarding church attendance and the Lord’s day.  If anyone has any suggestions of reading on the Puritans in these particular areas, please leave me a comment.  I appreciate the assistance.

Back to Hebrew homework.  I am hoping to post more consistently very soon.  Thanks for reading!

3 responses to “Why do people depart from the faith?

  1. Good book: Valley of Vision: A collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions

  2. Re: Why do people depart from the faith?

    Good question and I don’t feel I have the full answer.

    My hypothesis is that some never really were “in the faith”. What we perceive is a departure is really just a continuation of a life of unbelief. Consider the parable of the sower and the soils (Matthew 13).

    Also 1 John 2:19, “They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would have continued with us; but they went out that they might be made manifest, that none of them were of us. ”

    Hope this helps

  3. The best place to start for any study of the Puritans is J. I. Packer’s The Quest for Godliness: The Puritan Vision of the Christian Life. It is densely packed with material.

    Packer has a chapter on Puritans and the Lord’s Day and chapters on spirituality, worship, and marriage and family life. He has plenty of sources so it should be easy to find further resources.

Leave a Reply

