Reflections on turning 40!

Well I turned 40 this week (Monday) and was surprised with a surprise party on Monday evening.  I enjoyed the day especially since I took the day off.  Most people find it strange that I take my birthday off from work.  I believe in enjoying the day and work is not a part of that enjoyment!  Now if I was on a church staff or pastoring, I would probably have a different attitude.

When one hits a monumental age (30, 40, 50, 60) reflection takes place before and after the birthday.

  • I miss my mom, she died six months after my 37th birthday
  • I am thankful to have a good family – a wonderful wife and son — Joseph will be 3 on Monday (our birthdays are one week apart)
  • I have finished one graduate degree – May, 2008 – M.A. in Theology with a Concentration in Biblical Studies.
  • Next year, I will finish my MDiv and look at the possibility of doing post- graduate studies.
  • I am employed albeit not at something that I enjoy… but nevertheless it is a job in the midst of trying economic times.
  • Trying to get out of debt, this is a slow process, but we are plugging away at it, little by little.

Do I have any regrets, probably some, but not many…

I wish that I was able to serve in a church full-time like some of my colleagues (at my current seminary and other seminaries) are doing.  Being able to do so is a great compliment to one’s seminary education.  I do not know why this opportunity has not been made available to me.  The great frustration arises when trying to balance seminary, work responsibilities, and ministry opportunities.  I have written on this in a previous post and I know that I am far from an expert on this, but I still try my best and I do fail at times.

Right now, at 40 I wonder what the Lord has in store for me in the future years…

I am thankful for 40 years because 40 years ago, my parents were told that I would not live 24 hrs (because I was born 3 months premature).  Hearing and recounting those stories, makes me thankful for my salvation and for the sovereignty of God in the affairs of men.

Leave a Reply

