What I know and what I don’t

This will be a fairly brief post because I have a Hebrew exam to study for..

Over the next several weeks, several things will take place which will affect me and my family..

1) We will find out if we can stay in our current apartment.. last year they raised the rent $105 a month which has been a stretch for us, but we have made it by the provision of the Lord.  We really do not want to move if we do not have to.  We like it here and it is 15 mins from work and church which is a decent commute.  We do have a lead on another place to live, but the drawback will be the commute, we will be 30 miles one way – away from church, seminary and work.

2) We will find out if I will get a raise this year… last year I did very well on my performance review and received a healthy pay raise.  This year with the economy being in the state that it is, who knows.  I have told some of my colleagues that when my company announces its financial results on May 4 for the last quarter, then we all will have a greater picture of what will happen.  I am thankful to have a job during these stressful times.  It will be hard to keep pace when other costs are going up.

3) I did find out today that I only have 16 credits remaining and I will graduate with my MDiv in May of 2010.  I also heard (unofficially) that I was elected Senior Class President.    My class schedule will be a good load.  I will take one summer class, then in the Fall I will take Hebrew (2nd year) and a class on Dispensations, and Senior Seminar (a no-credit course where one gets prepared for doctrinal defenses in the Spring).  Not sure how I will be able to afford these last 16 credit hours, but again I will rely upon the Lord’s provision.

4) Now that I am much closer to graduation, people often ask, “What are you going to do once you graduate?”  The honest answer to this question is that I really have no idea.  I know what I would like to do, but I am not sure what the will of God is for me and my family right now.  I would like to pursue post-graduate studies at The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, KY— but I have some work to do in getting my GPA up to the level they expect.  I would like to pastor and work on my doctorate if possible.  Only regret, is that I was not able to serve on a church staff during my time in seminary.  I feel like I missed out on a lot of opportunities in that area.

I have to go study for a Hebrew exam… more later

2 responses to “What I know and what I don’t

  1. Sorry about your rent going up.

    I’ve heard good things about SBTS

    • Our rent went up last year in August… our lease expires on July 31st. Apt complex will notify us sometime between May 1 and May 15 to see if we will renew our lease for another year. Right now, if they raise the rent, we will be forced to move…. so we are praying with the economy the way it is, that the rent will remain the same. Maybe I am missing something, but I do not see how they can raise the rent any higher with the economy in the tank?

      SBTS is a top-notch seminary. I have already visited the campus (last April). I will probably take Heidi and Joseph for a visit before I submit my paperwork next year. It would be an honor to be accepted there!

Leave a Reply

