Dear Mr. President – your nominee is a racist

Dear Mr. President,

I would figure that you are a smart man and that you should be able to see that when your potential Supreme Court nominee makes such statements as ” I would hope that a wise Latina woman with the richness of her experiences would more often than not reach a better conclusion than a white male who hasn’t lived that life.”  Mr. President, I am surprised that you of all people do not see this as an intensely racist statement.  Ms. Sotomeyer cannot hear cases effectively because she has a definite bias against white males.  I guess in this era of  “hope and change” that this is permissible in your eyes and that you intend to do nothing about it.  You yourself said , “I’m sure that she would have restated it.”  Mr. President, how do you know that?  Are you covering for her lack of tact and the fact that she is a racist. I am glad that we have the process of confirmation hearings because she will be exposed for the racist and the judicial activist that she really is.

Mr. President you have also said that “her record makes clear that she is fair, unbiased, and dedicated to the rule of law”  How can you say that with all honesty when Ms. Sotomayer has made statements “that appeals courts make policy.”  Mr. President, you as a constitutional law professor, should know that the judiciary does not make laws but rather is charged with interpreting those laws!

Mr. President, I am deeply disappointed in your nominee and I plan to email my one, lone Senator and let her know my opinion, but because she is a Democrat, I fully expect her to ignore my opinion.

 

Quotations taken from USA Today

Leave a Reply

