Tech Meets Traditional

If you ask my wife and some of my friends, they will confirm that I am somewhat of a gadget geek.  I have a cell phone (it needs to be upgraded because of some issues).  I have an iPod(Red) and an iPod touch–the iPod was a gift a couple of years ago at Christmas.  The iPod touch was a splurge this year at Christmas time.  I am typing this post on a laptop computer that I have had for over 4 years now.  I have four email accounts (1 personal, 1 spam-catcher and other items, 1 seminary account, and of course my work email account which I do not manage away from work) and a blog.   I am on Facebook and Twitter.

You would think from the above self-revelation that I am totally about technology.  Well, I am not, totally.  Even though I use many of the modern technology gadgets, etc.  There is still a side of me that is very traditional in nature.  I own a moleskine notebook and write in it quite often.  Don Whitney probably wishes that I would use a fountain pen in the moleskine, but I have not gotten that far yet.  I am still exploring the options of a Phileas Fine Point!  Even though I have the iPod, et al.  I still carry a traditional paper calendar.  It is a simple calendar with big blocks for each day of the month put out by MeadWestvaco, but you would see it in Office Depot as the DayMinder brand.  You may ask, “Why keep a paper calendar with all the technology gadgets?”  Well, many times I find myself in a spot where I cannot boot up the laptop, or I do not have the iPod touch with me, but I have a pencil or a pen and the DayMinder calendar and I can make a note in that calendar quicker than I could with the gadget and/or technology.  Plus, if one of these devices decides to crash and take my data with it (I use Carbonite and an external hard drive to backup things) I still have my trusty paper calendar.

I have also recently started using a Moleskine notebook.  You can read more about the Moleskine here.  I am using the Moleskine more or less like a journal.  You can read more about the practice of journaling here.  I started keeping my journal on June 9, 2009.  I have just been recording my thoughts from my daily Bible reading, some items of interest from our church annual business meeting, a book title that I heard about that piqued my interest, thought-provoking questions like this one:  How much do you medidate on the content and power of the Gospel – Col 1:1-14, thoughts on a lecture from Paige Patterson done at SBTS years ago on How to Judge a Sermon, a list that I found in a pamphlet on How to Pray for Missionaries.   I carry my moleskine with me to be able to write in it as I am able and as I get either an idea or a thought.  In fact, I wrote down the need for this post in my moleskine and now I am taking it from paper to fruition!

I think that there is a place for technology, as with anything it can be abused and misused.  In many ways I enjoy the benefits of technology (instant communication via email, the world-wide-web and the plethora of resources, Logos Bible Software and its resources, etc.)  but there will always be a part of me that will remain traditional.  Even though I will read the Scriptures occasionally on the iPod, I will never give up owning a paper copy of the printed Word of God.   I will always bring my Bible to church and not replace it with my iPod or other device that may contain the Bible on it. That is merely a personal preference of mine, not a conviction or judgment on those who choose to do so.

Part of me has always wondered how we survived with about cell phones, email, and the internet?  We still got things done, but I think that we (collectively) have become more impatient as technology advances.  I am not against technology within the right context.

Do all of these advances save us time?  I think that question is still being debated today.

As always, I welcome your comments …

One response to “Tech Meets Traditional

  1. I think the real question is “does technology make us more productive?”. I think the answer is yes.

    Some is unnecessary (like an Ipod (I have one too!). In the early 60’s a had a small transistor radio. I could listen to music, baseball games, etc. But my only programming options was turning the dial. So an Ipod has all over a radio but does not make us more productive.

    Kathee and I work in technology and are often on call. Years ago at Mellon Bank, a call in the night met Kathee driving into work. When I was at Norwest in Colorado a call in the night would mean a drive to the data center. Along the way we could connect every so slowly with a 2400 baud modem. Now we can work from home with speeds as fast as at the office. That’s productivity!

    The cell phone has many advantages over either not being connected, or looking for a pay phone, or a pager! It is a time saver and a productivity improver.

    The Internet has transformed buying. The MLS is online! You can shop for cars online and find the one you like and put a $ 100 hold on it via credit card. The Internet is the great knowledge leveler that takes the salesman’s high card away from him and has reduced prices.

    Offices are much more productive with the powerful laptops and desktops. Secretaries are less important because workers have tools like email, word processing, etc. Churches haven’t come to realize this quite yet an still hire secretaries. But they are not needed.

    Websites and Google are the new yellow pages. Looking for a church (or a business) … just Google it.

    There’s a place for notebooks, and journals etc …. but there is no going back.

    (The office I started at at IBM in 1973 would hardly be recognized. You should have seen the giant fax machine …. and it was slow. Communications between plant and branch or interbranch was done by Telex. Wanted something typed? Drafted on a yellow pad … given to word processing …. wait days …. draft comes back for markup … back to word processing for final. As a salesman on the road, I would call my secretary at every stop for messages. Then use a payphone to call clients. What change!

Leave a Reply

