BD’s Mongolian BBQ

We had the opportunity to go to dinner tonight at BD’s Mongolian BBQ in Burnsville.  This was a result of several things:

  1. I read a review that Jason DeRusha of WCCO did on BD’s and thought that it might be worth a try.
  2. After reading that review, I happened to pass by the location while in Burnsville just before Christmas.
  3. My wife and son both had chiropractic appointments only a few mins away, so the time was right.

We found the restaurant with no problems and we arrived early before the dinner crowd.  We were seated right away and we were very impressed with the openness of the restaurant, the cleanliness, and the helpful and friendly staff.  Our server came over right away and explained the menu and took our beverage order.  Our drinks arrived quickly and we were ready to begin eating.  I tried the soup (since I have an affinity for soup – another post for another time) The soups for today were a Sweet Pepper and Beef and a Wisconsin Cheddar.  I tried the Sweet Pepper soup which was outstanding.  I would have had more, but I wanted to make sure that I had plenty of room for the main course.

They have recipe cards available for those newbies who feel that they may need some guidance, but I have eaten at enough Mongolian places to know what I want to achieve.  BD’s has a great selection of meat and seafood.  I was impressed with the quality of the NY Strip and the Sirloin, even though I do not eat much red meat, I had some tonight with my meal.  They also had a great selection of vegetables as  well as sauces and spices.

At BD’s they do something unique related to the sauces and spices.  You load your main bowl with meats and veggies, but they ask to you take a separate smaller bowl for the sauce/spice mix.  The reason for this is that the sauce and spices are added towards to end of the cooking time to obtain the maximum flavor rather than if they were added altogether and then most of them being absorbed into the grill and not the food.  I think that this makes a big difference in the quality and taste of the food.

We have eaten at Mongo’s Grill in Maple Grove many times and I have written a review on Mongo’s as well.  After tonight’s experience, BD’s has dethroned Mongos in my book.  The only disadvantages are the distance from Maple Grove to Burnsville and that BD’s is slightly more expensive than Mongo’s.

I knew that it was good when my son Joseph said, “Dad, this is better than Mongo’s”

I told our server that we would definitely return.  Thanks BD’s for a great experience and we will definitely be back.

I would love to hear from you if you have been to BD’s — either good or bad experiences… leave it in the comments.

4 responses to “BD’s Mongolian BBQ

  1. My son’s said the same thing, and they still talk about BD’s occasionally. Which is funny coming from a 4 and 2-year-old.

    • Hey Jason, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I do not think we have had anyone of your prominence ever stop by and leave us a comment. My son is 3 1/2 almost 4 and he definitely knows what he likes. What was funny was after I took him for his bowl I went and got mine and the cook asked me how he liked it and I told him what he said about being better than Mongo’s and the cook was pretty happy!

  2. I live in the MG, and I don’t think I would drive to Burnsville to go to BD’s, but if were in the neighborhood, or if I lived near there, I’d be a frequent guest.

  3. That is exactly my dilemma. We live in MG also,but we really like BD’s. For us, we will go when we are in Burnsville or on a special occasion. Maybe BD’s will come to the Western suburbs and give Mongo’s and Khan’s some interesting competition!

Leave a Reply

