Letter received from SBTS…. and the answer is…

No

Well, not that bluntly, but I summarized what they said.  I knew that the competition at this level is tough and my grades were not exactly the greatest.  Working 40-50 hrs a week will have an effect in multiple areas of one’s life.  In reading about the process,  I remember seeing a paragraph which stated that grades were not the only factor in decision-making that they looked at the candidates complete record.  I thought in the back of my mind that my prior ministry experience, along with my current ministry involvement for the last eight years at Fourth Baptist Church and serving as Student Body President this year would have maybe helped, but alas, it was not to be.

I am not bitter or angry.  I am writing this to inform and as a way to help me process this “disappointment.”  Part of me was wanting to move to a different community and be involved in the life of a larger seminary.  Louisville looked like it would be a great place to live, it was definitely warmer than MN!

I am very thankful for the ministry of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary,  even though I will not be a part of the student body,  I will continue to pray for those who serve there and for the seminary to fulfill its role in training men and women for ministry.

Graduation is 16 days away (May 9th) and right now I have no clue as to what I will be doing after that point.  We have some decisions that will need to be made now that this one has been made for us (so to speak).  Our lease on our apartment ends at the end of July, but here in MN for some reason most apartments require a 60 day notice,  so if they raise the rent too high, then we will be forced to move elsewhere.  This raises another predicament,  I do not want to sign a long-term lease (12 months) because then I will be limiting my opportunities for potential ministry by locking myself into an obligation for another year.  Renting month to month here is a joke because the rent is never stable, it will fluctuate from month to month based on market conditions.  Last year, they did not raise the rent and that was after I had told them that we would be leaving because of the increase.  They rescinded the increase, so I am expecting that they will stick it to us this year since they did not get the increase last year.

On the ministry front, it is not looking very promising.  I have been praying and scouring the internet for possible opportunities.  What I am finding is three-fold:  1) Churches are just not hiring because of the economy   2) There are a lot of opportunities for those who feel led to serve in either youth ministry or music (not gifted in either area)  3) Churches want someone with a ton of experience — even the smaller churches want someone with a minimum of 5 years of experience.   Well, I have more than 5 years of ministry experience both full-time and as a layman in the churches that I have been a member of, but not 5 years of pastoral experience.

I have more to write, but my Hebrew assignment is calling me….

Leave a Reply

