Famous Dave’s = disappointing

Last week our family went to the Famous Daves in Maple Grove for a meal.  We were looking forward to this meal because we had a gift card.  I was already frustrated that they had dropped the tri-tip from the menu (I heard a rumour that it is back on the menu, but this has not been confirmed).

We have dined at Famous Dave’s several times each year for the past eight years or so.  We also used to be stockholders as well.

My wife and I, at the recommendation of our server, ordered the beef brisket since the tri-tip was not available.  My wife was the smart one because she ordered a two-meat combo.

When we received our meals, I was unbelievably disappointed and my wife was as well.  We both have had the brisket in the past, but this time it was downright awful.  It tasted chewy almost like they had let it dry out then soaked it in bouillion or some other liquid to mask the dried out meat.  I asked our server if they had changed anything in the preparation of the brisket because it tasted different than what I had expected. This was my way of attempting to complain without being nasty. I have heard and read horror stories when people complain about food items in a restaurant.  I was trying to be diplomatic about the situation and looking for the server to offer to change our food or at least see this from our point of view.  When I saw that this was going nowhere, I decided that it was pointless to continue.

Why I am writing this?  Maybe Famous Daves will get the message and refocus on the customer…

1) When a customer has a legitimate complaint, listen to what they are saying and at least make an attempt at fixing the problem

2) When a customer has a legitimate complaint, do not downplay or minimize their complaint.  It is real to them and they are taking the time to make you aware so that you have the opportunity to fix it.

3) When customers overwhelmingly enjoy a dish (tri-tip), why would you take it off the menu and then use the line that it was a “promotional” item?

I have always spoken highly of Famous Daves and sincerely hope that they can refocus their efforts on quality food and service.  It is disappointing to have to write this, but it needs to be said!  It is equally disappointing because there are not many good BBQ places here in the Twin Cities.

Disclosure of Material Connection:

I have not received any compensation for writing this and I have no material connection to the brands, topics, and/or products that are mentioned herein.  The opinions written here are solely my own.

2 responses to “Famous Dave’s = disappointing

  1. Terry,

    Thank you for taking the time to write this article about our restaurant. I do apologize on behalf of the entire staff that the meal you received was not up to par. I totally understand how frustrating it can be when you expect something and that expectations isn’t met.

    We hear your feedback and will definitely be using it. Thank you!

    I see you live in Minnesota more specifically the Twin Cities. How about I make it up to you? I’ll buy. Pick a day and time.

    -Adam
    —–
    Social Media Marketer for Famous Dave’s of America Inc.

Leave a Reply

