Roundtable discussion of deputation

Yesterday, I was privileged to participate in a roundtable discussion on the subject of deputation, that was hosted by Northland International University.  The event was at the Minneapolis Hilton Garden Inn.  We started around 8:30 and concluded around 4:00 pm.  This was a great opportunity for me, since I was employed by a mission agency from 1999-2002 and I had some first-hand experience with deputation, both as an administrator, helping those trying to get to the mission field a bit faster (average time for missionary to get to the field is between 3-5 years) and as part of my responsibilities, I was also responsible for raising a portion of my salary as monthly support from churches.

We started the day by deciding what our agenda would be by discussing ways to approach the topic.  Our facilitator did a great job in directing and facilitating the discussion.  He also mixed things up by rotating us to different groups when we were discussing different questions raised in the agenda.  A report on all of the roundtable discussions will be released sometime in April 2001.

I enjoyed participating, but being in the presence of so many pastors, professors, etc. made me feel like I was a fish out of water.  I am not a pastor currently and my missions experience was over eight years ago. In spite of these things, I trust that I was able in some way to make a contribution to the discussion.

Thanks to Northland International University for hosting this event and providing a great lunch also!

Leave a Reply

