E-Books – they are here to stay

I enjoy a good book and have always enjoyed reading.  While in college and seminary, I did a fair amount of reading and as a result of those experiences, learned to appreciate different books and authors.  Over the years, I have amassed quite a collection of books. Unfortunately, because I do not have an office (see my earlier post on this), most of my books are currently in storage.  I do have some in the living room and some on a small shelf in the bedroom.

In recent years, books have evolved from the printed page to the electronic edition or e-book as they are commonly referred to.  Amazon has revolutionized the e-book with their Kindle device and the Kindle app.  So now, you can acquire loads of books on your Kindle or iPad or Mac without taking up a lot of physical storage space.  Not to be left out, Apple has the iBooks platform for the  iPad and iPod touch.

I enjoy an e-book because I can read them anywhere and I am not having to lug around a lot of books.  I can remember while in seminary working on a paper, that I would have either one or two canvas bags full of books.  Now, if I were in seminary, I would be able to have most of my sources on my MacBook and not have to lug around those bags of books.

Here is where the difficulty lies with e-books….for me.

Out of sight, out of mind.  Right now, as I am writing this, I am sitting adjacent to my bookshelf in the living room and I am looking at several volumes.  With the e-book, unless I open the reader app (either Kindle or iBooks) then I sometimes forget that I have the e-book!

In addition to my e-books, I also have Logos Bible Software and that also has a ton of books as well.  Currently in my Logos library, I have approximately 2000 titles, but again, unless I have Logos open, I sometimes forget that I have a book within the collection.

With my print books, I can see them on the shelves and I know that they are there.  With my e-books, I sometimes forget that they exist.

Does anyone have a solution to this issue?

Leave a Reply

