Shrimp Basket -Pensacola, FL

Some of the best places to eat in a community are the ones that are locally owned and operated.  Like I have said in an earlier post, we try to never eat at places that we can eat at home (chain restaurants, etc.)

Last year, when our flight was delayed, we had the opportunity to go to a place that is relatively close to where my in-laws stay when they are in Florida.  The Shrimp Basket  is a great place to eat if you are looking for some great seafood.  We ate here in 2010 and enjoyed it so much, that I told my son that we would go back when we were in Florida again.  I found out that they have some All-You-Can-Eat Specials.

So my son and I walked down to the Shrimp Basket on a Wednesday afternoon in between rain showers to have some shrimp.  As soon as we arrive and are seated, it begins to pour down rain.  My son was a bit disturbed, but I knew that in Florida, the rain comes and goes and that we would be fine when we left.  We ordered our shrimp (he had the kids portion and I had the All You Can Eat.

I enjoyed having lunch with my son because we were on vacation and we were not on any time schedule.  We talked and laughed and had a great time.  Our food arrived and we enjoyed it to the fullest extent!  The AYCE shrimp comes with a generous portion of shrimp, fries or new potatoes (red skinned potatoes) and shrimp slaw.  I am not a big fan of coleslaw because most of the time it is prepared with too much dressing where it is almost like soup than slaw.  The slaw at the Shrimp Basket is just right, not too much dressing and it even has shrimp in it!  Another thing that I almost forgot about, is that the Shrimp Basket has their own hot sauce!  Yes, their own hot sauce.  If you are a hot sauce junkie, like I am, this sauce is a worth a taste.  I cannot begin to describe the flavor, but it is the most unique blend of hot sauce that I have ever had.  It even goes great if you mix it with their cocktail sauce.  I only wish that I had bought a bottle to bring home! For some reason, it is unavailable online in their store.

The Shrimp Basket has 11 locations in the FL/AL area.  It is a place to definitely make time to visit if you are nearby one of their 11 locations! The food is out of this world and the friendly service with a smile and Southern hospitality!

 

Leave a Reply

