Reflecting back and looking ahead

Now that you have seen the WordPress report of the blog, I can maybe go into some detail as to what I will be trying to do in 2013.

2012 was a good year, I received a promotion of sorts, a new job with the same company.  I was able to travel to Carrollton TX and also went to Richmond, VA for Six Sigma Greenbelt training.  I also have a new boss and director and I enjoy what I do (still looking for full-time ministry, but I am at least at a place of contentment for the time being!)

As a family, we were able to travel to Dallas, TX for a mini-vacation/scouting trip.  We are looking at the possibility of relocating to the Dallas-Fort Worth area in the summer of 2013.  Please pray for us as we are still in the decision-making process.  At the time of writing this, we are wrapping up our vacation in FL.  We have been here since the 19th of December.  I have worked one day (20th) and the rest of the time I have been on vacation.  I am thankful that my job allows me to work pretty much from anywhere even though I am in the office 99% of the time.  It has been nice to enjoy doing nothing and not feeling a bit guilty either!  I have enjoyed spending time with my wife and children along with my in-laws, nieces, and nephews as well.

I am not one to set New Year’s Resolutions only to be disappointed in not reaching them.  I would rather call them Goals and work at them all year long!

I have had plenty of time to pray and think about my goals for this year.  Some are private goals that I won’t list here, but the goals I choose to list I hope to obtain over the course of the year.  Some goals will take all year to reach, others could be reached much sooner. By listing these, I am hoping that many people will hold me accountable.

Goals for 2013

  • To read through the entire English Bible in one year
  • To read through the entire Greek New Testament in one year
  • Lose 20 lbs – in order to do this, I need to exercise a minimum of 15 mins each morning and 15 mins each evening at least 6 days a week

I have other goals but I am going to concentrate my focus on these three and pray that I will honor God in the process, grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ, be a better husband, dad, co-worker, church member as well.

What are your goals for 2013?  Please feel free to share them in the Comments.

 

Leave a Reply

