Being a guest speaker can be tough

Being a guest speaker can be tougher than being a pastor.  Before you take issue with what I just said, please hear me out.

The reason why I say that is because when one is invited somewhere to speak and you do not know much about the church congregation or their struggles, it can be very difficult to know exactly what to preach that will meet the needs of the congregation.

It can also be tough because sometimes there can be a lot of travel involved. Last weekend, I drove over 300 miles roundtrip from home to preach at a church in Iowa.  We left on Friday afternoon and went to my in-laws and then we left for church Sunday morning around 8:15 am and did not get back to my in-laws until almost 9:00 pm that night.  Thankfully Monday was the Labor Day holiday.

I am not in any way trying to minimize a permanent pastoral role, but just wanting people to understand that life can be a bit challenging for those of us who can only gain speaking engagements outside of our local congregations. I appreciate the opportunities that I have. They tend to ebb and flow and are not consistent.  Since I cannot seem to land a pastorate, this is the route I must take for now.

Leave a Reply

