Miscellaneous Musings After a Brief Absence

In no particular order..

I apologize for not writing here recently.  I have been doing a lot more journaling which I think has been a good thing for me, but what I am writing is not for a widespread audience.  I would encourage you to get in the habit of journaling.  I try to write everyday if possible, if not then at least every couple of days.  If you wait too long, then details might be fuzzy.  Not only is it a good practice/discipline, you can leave behind something for your family.  I think this became evident to me when my mother passed away in 2006 and we do not have much outside of photographs.  I have her Bible which she marked up and made copious notes in, but not much else.  I wish had some of her recipes for some of my favorite meals from my childhood and she told a lot of good stories about relatives and family members from years gone by.  I personally use Day One for Mac and I have it on my iPad mini and iPhone to jot things down as necessary to trigger what to write on later that evening.  The hardest part is getting started, once you get started then it starts to flow and you find yourself writing a lot more than you thought you would and about things that you wouldn’t have thought about.

My son and I were having a discussion the other day about the planets and I realized a few things that I had never thought about before, see if you agree:

  • The Bible says nothing else about the existence of any other planets, other than earth.  I am not saying that they don’t exist, but interesting that there is no mention of anything other than the earth, sun and moon
  • With the exception of the earth, all of the other planet names are of Greek or Roman deity (Mars, Venus, Jupiter, etc.)

I am preaching intermittently in Iowa, but I am glad to be home more often.

More later….

Leave a Reply

