Time is worth something… not debt

I am facing a slight quandry. Recently, my employer relocated to a new building and it has lengthened my commute from 45 mins to 1 1/2 hours. Right now, I leave the house at 6:45 am and I do not get home until almost 6:20 pm (that is if all trains and buses are on schedule – I take 3 trains and 1 bus).

Someone said I should just borrow the money to buy another car. I thought about it and realized that wasn’t a smart idea. I would be trading my time for debt and I think that my time is more valuable than debt (especially debt on a depreciating item that loses value) Sometimes, I wish that I had another car but I am also thankful not to have the car payment to go along with the other car. It gets discouraging when your train or bus is late because then it has a domino effect.

We recently completed Financial Peace University at our church and it has transformed our financial life. We are working our plan to get out of debt and I have to remind myself that I need to keep going and not get derailed. Getting out of debt is a process not something instantaneous.

We have survived almost three years having one car. I think we can make it another year or so and get our debt paid and be able to save up money to pay cash for a car.

Time is money and it is a valuable commodity, just not worth trading it for debt.

2 responses to “Time is worth something… not debt

  1. Why don’t you move closer to work when your apartment lease ends?

Leave a Reply

